Iwonicz-Zdrój is a climatic town with approximately 1,800 inhabitants and one of Poland's oldest and most beautifully situated health resorts. Iwonicz iodine waters were known already in the 16th century when it was described by the court physician of King Stefan Batory - Wojciech Oczko, known as the father of Polish balneology. The first baths serving the patients were built in 1793 by Michał Ostaszewski. Still, only the new owners of the local estates - Counts Załuski Family-transformed Iwonicz into a health resort bustling with life. Successive generations of this family decorated the fashionable resort with wooden buildings, as beautiful as Mineral Baths, Spa House, "White Eagle," or the symbol of the city - Willa Bazar with a clock tower. They are kept in the then fashionable nature of alpine resorts - the so-called Swiss style. Thanks to them, today Iwonicz-Zdrój is among the most fantastic attractions of the wooden architecture route.
Nowadays, the town is also an important health resort where diseases of the musculoskeletal system, digestive system, respiratory tract, rheumatology, women, nervous system, skin, osteoporosis, and obesity are treated. There is a unique, healing microclimate and ecologically clean natural environment.
There are numerous healing springs in the city, the waters of which are available to everyone in the new pump room, strongly reminiscent of the traditional buildings of the resort. A walk to the "Bełkotka" spring is popular among the patients, the name of which comes from the natural gas coming from the bottom, causing the water to bubble. The source, described by Oczko and Wincenty Pol, (whose monument was erected next to the spring) is today a natural monument.
The red Main Beskid Trail and numerous walking paths run through Iwonicz-Zdrój.