Sanok is a picturesque city located situated by the San River, at the foot of the Słonne Mountains. This is the largest city in the Bieszczady foothills. Inhabited by approx. 38 thousand residents.
Sanok was established at the turn of the 10th and 11th century. The oldest mention date is from 1150. In 1340 King Casimir III the Great under the right of heir acquired this land. On 2nd of May1417 Władysław Jagiełło's wedding with his third wife Elżbieta Granowska was in this place. From the end of the 16th century, the slow decline of Sanok began. This was due to numerous of fires, the largest of them almost completely destroyed the city. After the First Partition of Poland, Sanok became part of the Kingdom of Galicia and Lodomeria. During the World War II, on the San River the German-Soviet border was established until June 1941. The right-bank side of Sanok and part of the Sanok district got under Soviet occupation in 1939-1941, while the left-bank got under German occupation. Only a few Jews survived the Holocaust. The post-war years was the time to rebuild the poundings.
In Sanok there are a historic old town, a royal castle since the 16th century, a church and Franciscan Monastery from the 17th century and many other monuments. One of the biggest attractions in the city is the open-air museum, which is the largest in terms of collected objects, and the Historical Museum with very precious collection of icons and a gallery of the famous artist Zdzisław Beksinski.
In Sanok begins the blue trail leading to Chryszczata and the red trail leading through the Słonne Mountains to Przemyśl.